Posted by: Vikram | February 20, 2009

And I ran ……

I did the 13.1 miles of a half-marathon, last Sunday, to raise money for AID.

It was a superb experience. The run was made much easier thanks to the cheerers all across the course and AID’s own ‘pit-stop’ teams. I took a bit longer than I wanted too, around 2 and a half hours, so I am wondering whether my next goal should be the full 26.2 miles or a faster half-marathon time.

Finishing the marathon felt really good, but finishing it without any stress or strain and in a very relaxed manner felt like a real accomplishment. For this I have to thank our trainer Shrawan Singhal, who also did an excellent job in raising funds.

Truly, it was a fulfilling and also humbling experience, one that I thoroughly enjoyed training for and doing. I would recommend it to everyone.

Here’s the donation link again, in case you feel like donating to AID’s initiatives, http://www.runforindia.org/runners/vikramg

A big thanks to everyone who has donated so far.

Responses

  1. Congrats! Sounds like a wonderful experience.

    In my opinion, go for a faster time. I think marathons are too punishing, but then I haven’t ever run either distance.

    Thanks, MmeetsK. I lost about 20-25 minutes to completely avoidable stoppages. So I think i can do it in about 2 hours. I will shoot for that next time.

    There were plenty of couples running. You and Satya should definitely give it a shot. 🙂

  2. Well done Vikram !!!

  3. Kudos to u!

  4. @ IHM and Reema, thanks a lot. 🙂

  5. Kudos Vikram for doing it for a cause.

    I have done a walk-a-thon for cancer research some time back.

    Thanks 🙂

  6. Congrats, Vikram.

  7. @ Vikram : Congrats and I think you should improve your time instead of doing the full marathon. Who knows you might just be the first one through the ribbon? I couldn’t run 13 miles though so you are doing well! 🙂

  8. congragulations vikram.

  9. @ Amit, Anrosh, Thanks.

    @ Odzer, yes I think you are right. I’ll shoot for 10 minute miles first.


Leave a Reply

Categories

