Posted by: Vikram | April 30, 2009

Book Tag

Amit tagged me with the book tag,

1) What author do you own the most books by?
Franz Kafka and Stephen Crane, I dont own the books, most were checked out from the library

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
Dont have more than one copy of any book

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Didnt notice

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Not Applicable

5) What book have you read the most times in your life?
The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene and The Trial by Kafka

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
I did not read much back then but most likely Champak

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
I am pretty selective about things I devote more than 10 minutes too and books usually take days to finish

8 ) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Smoke and Mirrors by Pallavi Aiyar, also A Journey Interrupted by Farzana Versey and Descent into Chaos by Ahmed Rashid. Getting to know the neighbours 🙂

9) If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be?
I dont like to force things on people, but I would highly recommend Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?
No clue …

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Actually that wish has already been fulfilled, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep ? by Philip Dick was made into Blade Runner. I actually feel that A Journey Interrupted could be made into an interesting movie if spiced up a little bit 😀

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
I dont like negative thinking 😉 And hey, movies create jobs

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
Dont think I have had any

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
Refer to question 7

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Havent found any difficult so far

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
Not applicable

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
Why ?

18) Roth or Updike?
Not applicable

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
?

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
What ?

21) Austen or Eliot?
Not a poetry fan

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
Hindi and Marathi literature

23) What is your favorite novel?
Not a novel person (as you can tell from my blog 😉 )

24) Play?
I really liked Urdu dramas by Umer Shariff when I was young

25) Poem?
Lyrics of Hum Na Samjhe The from the movie Gardish

26) Essay?
Oh common …

27) Short story?
Stories from the Panchtantra

28) Work of nonfiction?
Descent into Chaos by Ahmed Rashid

29) Who is your favorite writer?
No single favourite …

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
No idea …

31) What is your desert island book?
Idiots Guide to Escaping from a Desert Island 🙂

32) And… what are you reading right now?
Forgive Me Amma: The Life and Times of Dhanraj Pillay

Thanks for the tag Amit 🙂 .

I tag odzer.

Responses

  1. u are pretty good reader.I had never read more than few hindi books, blogs and wikipedia articles…
    But seen lot of movies,hence your choice of Blade runner as movie is damn good.

  2. Frankly,I am not a serious reader.Since I like reading your posts,I did.Sorry can not comment beyond this.How truthful of me?

  3. Vikram,
    Blade Runner is one of my all time favorite movies!! And Philip K. Dick wrote some serious mind-bending stuff!

  4. @ Himanshu, you should definitely read some more books. It is a more intense experience than watching a movie.

    @ Chowla saab, it is not too late to start sir !

    @ Amit, Blade Runner is one of the best. And yes there will never be another Philip Dick 😦

  5. @ Vikram : I have just updated my blog and completed the tag. Nice to see your selection in reading and thanks for tagging me 🙂

  6. Vikram – I think the Austen and Eliot question relates to two British female novelists Jane Austen and George Eliot; no poetry involved.

  7. @ odzer, Thanks.

    @ Conrad, Since I dont know much about Jane Austen and George Eliot, I guess I cant really comment.

  8. Eliot is meant to be one of the greatest English novelists, we had to stduy her novel Middlemarch in school which is supposed to be some sort of masterpiece but I found it and her somewhat boring. I think now, writing myself, I am more impressed with what she did but I don’t think she would have much appeal to modern audiences.

    Austen on the other hand I think is far more interesting and relevant. Pride and Prejudice, in many ways captures the milieu and culture of middle class families negotiating their minefields of personal relationships, class and status in society very well. One of the reasons why it was given the ‘bollywood’ treatment as it were. I think it is a well written and enjoyable read and still has something to say about relationships between men and women.

  9. You didn’t pick between Shakespeare, Milton or Chaucer! For me, it’s Shakespeare anyday 🙂

    • Welcome Kabir. Unfortunately I haven read anything by any of the three, so there was no way I could make a choice ! 🙂

      • If you get time, you should definitely read at least Shakespeare’s major tragedies: Hamlet, Othello, Macbeth. They’re great works of art and also yield interesting insights into human behavior and psychology.

  10. […] Read more from the original source: Book Tag […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

